JustinTimberlake “20/20 Experience” First Impression Review! (teaser: it’s

image

Pusher Lover Girl: sorry, but the whole “love as drug” thing is played the fvck out. that being said, the song is pleasant enough but goes on for too long and just doesn’t give me #NewNess

Suit and Tie: is a good song. i was actually surprised to see as many negative things about it online, but i liked it when i first heard it and i still like. It’s funky, it’s fun, what’s not to like?

Don’t Hold The Wall: a sexy number, Timbaland brings back that whole indian infused beats he was working with back in 2003/2004. It works nicely here though and the way Timberlake attacks those verses … #LOVE. And than you have this crazy breakdown at the end, yeah this song is hot.

Strawberry Bubblegum: AND… i’m sold. a very sexy, very pleasant, very groove-a-licious track that can’t be denied. and it switches into this sort of latin-esque groove at the end which is very nice. (this is #thatmoment when I almost don’t want to listen to the rest of the stream and just wait until it’s available… but for the sake of the blog i’ll keep going)

Tunnel Vision: Hmmm, so this one is a little extra with the futuristic sound blips and stutter beats of Timbaland’s past… but at the same time it’s really nice and pleasant. Timberlake has a nice flow on the verses. The breakdown part is pretty cool, it’s an alright song overall.

Spaceship Coupe: OUCH! that first note was NOT A GOOD LOOK!! Overall i’m not feeling what he’s giving vocally, but it’s a sweet little song if you can overcome it. It is giving me R.Kelly/Usher T’s though!? I really like it.

That Girl: I LOVE! It’s real laid back, old school, soul, but still in a weird way has a very current NOW thing going on. Flawless.

Let The Groove Get In: I’m gonna wait… it’s weird for me so far, but I anticipate some sort of switch-up soon.

Mirrors: Heard this a few weeks ago (bought it) and it just struck me as dull and dated, I might get into it more when I buy the album and start listening to it more, but it does nothing for me. I do like the “you are, you are, the love of my life” part though.

Blue Ocean Floor: Simply put… possibly Justin Timberlake’s best song ever. i really don’t know what else to say… it’s very, striking and beautiful and captivating and lush.

OVERALL: GOOD JOB JUSTIN!!! I was scared the album would come off really dated … but it’s weird because it’s not a far cry from “Future Sex Love Sounds” but it’s a nice extension of that… mixing in to great effect more soulful bluesy sounds to incorporate his roots. I gotta say I’m impressed.

8.5/10

Did you like it? 🙂

image

Leave a Reply

